Skip to content

It’s Chili Time

October 11, 2008

I love the fall and everything that comes along with it.  I have been waiting for the weather to change and actually feel like fall for quite some time now.  I love soups, chili, stews and all the other cool weather fall type foods.  I enjoy these types of food all the time but I really enjoy them when the weather is crisp and cool. 

On a cool night there is nothing better than a warm, spicy bowl of chili with cheese and Fritos.  The other night was the perfect night to make my first batch of chili for the season; it was cool outside and I was bundled up inside. 

I love deer meat; dear steak, chili, sausage or whatever…I’m a fan.  We had a deer processed and had some chili meat made so I thought I would try that out for this batch of chili.  The chili turned out incredible; it was so tasty and all the flavors blended perfectly.  The night before I browned the meat, cut up onions and peppers and got them all ready so I could just throw everything in the crockpot the next morning.  Chili is a great meal to make ahead; and that’s exactly what I did.

 

Ingredients:

1 Pound Italian sausage

1 Pound deer meat (I had the processor cut up some in a chili cut)

1 Can chili with beans

1 Can chili with hot beans

3 Cans stewed tomatoes

1 Can Rotel

2 Medium/1 Large bell pepper-chopped

4-5 Medium peppers- such as jalapenos or habaneros (add more or less according to taste)

2 Tablespoons crushed red pepper flakes

Pepper-to taste

Garlic salt-to taste

3-4 Tablespoons chili powder

3-4 Tablespoons Louisiana hot sauce

Cheddar cheese-shredded to go on top

Fritos

 

Directions:

Place meat in pan and cook thoroughly.  Once meat is cooked, drain, and then add seasonings.  Dice peppers and onions and mix into meat.  ***If cooking it in a crockpot place mixture in refrigerator until ready to cook. 

Once ready to cook place meat and onion mixture in crockpot; stir in rest of ingredients.  Place crockpot on low before work and when you come home you’ll have a nice, hot meal ready when you get home. 

Top with cheese and a side of fritos!

 

 

Recipe from Lynsey Lou

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

