Skip to content

Saucy Catfish

August 11, 2010

Although I watch Food Network quite often, I always see things that I want to make and eventually I do.  It is very rare that I watch an episode and decide that I need/want to make everything that was made; that being said usually when I want to make everything from an episode I don’t make it all at once.  I guess there is a first time for everything!  I was watching Paula’s Best Dishes and she and Trisha Yearwood were making true southern dishes; saucy catfish, jalapeno hushpuppies with a sweet and spicy chili sauce, stewed collard greens and chocolate pecan cobbler with caramel topping.  Everything they made looked absolutely delicious and I knew I had to make everything and I decided to make it all together.  I’m so glad I did, the meal was incredible!

This fish was so good, it was the perfect texture and so flakey and the sauce was really good as well.  The sauce that it is baked in is like Thousand Island Dressing with a little sweetness.  When the fish is served with the spicey hushpuppies and the salty greens it compliments each other wonderfully.  This meal really does have all the flavors and ingredients of a true southern meal and having all the tastes of the south brings a level of comfort to the table.  The next time you want a home cooked, southern style meal I would definitely suggest this and don’t forget the chocolate cobbler!

Saucy Catfish

 

Ingredients:

1 1/2 Pounds catfish (about 4 filets)

2 Teaspoons salt

1/2 Cup ketchup

1/2 Cup mayonnaise

1 Tablespoon yellow mustard

1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1/4 Cup brown sugar

2 Teaspoons apple cider vinegar

1/2 Cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 Cup chopped, sweet onion

1 Lemon, sliced

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.

Line a 9×13 glass casserole dish with aluminum foil

Sprinkle the fillets with salt and place in a single layer in the pan.

Make the basting sauce by combining and mixing all of the ingredients besides the lemon.  Once the sauce is made pour over the fish fillets.  Place the fillets in the oven and bake for about 20-25 minutes, until it flakes easily with a fork.  Baste the fist every 10 minutes while it is baking. 

Remove the fish from the oven and transfer to a serving platter and garnish with lemon slices.

Recipe source: Paula’s Best Dishes, Food Network

No comments yet

Leave a comment